Friday, 10 October 2008

Getting more gear...

Today we headed down to the Turkey Sale in the village which is the annual clear-out that all the ski and board shops here have at Thanksgiving (which is on Monday, its a month earlier than the USA. We guess its because harvest is earlier, but hey. We know nothing.). I've already got a board and Jon picked up a really nice ex-rental board for $100 and we're going to go get some bindings tomorrow. Theres a snowboard factory down the road thats having a sale and a factory tour tomorrow which should be pretty cool. We're also going to get a couple of shitty boards to learn on so we don't wreck our good ones (for y'all old people, when it starts to snow, you can really bugger your board up because theres still rocks sticking up) and we should be able to get some for about thirty bucks. Anyway, I bought gloves and thermals and some little metal stars to stick on my board for grip. I spent $142 I can't really afford but I'm all set for the whole season now.

Also today: Bear no. 2 - About bloody time. He was a teeny little bear - so teeny I didn't even notice he was there! Jon was like, theres a bear! I was like... what? He was just outside our house down the side, nomming something and generally being uninterested. I got some crappy photos of him.

Anyway, its starting to get bloody cold. Will probably not be doing too much this week as I spent all my pay on sweeeeeet gear (and Hallowe'en costume!) Also, we might have to pay for our season passes because we can't apply for any boarding-related volunteer positions as we were idiots and told them we were novices. There are some other positions, but they're really shit front-of-house restaurant jobs (read: cleaning up peoples crap) and so if we dont get good enough benefits we'll just suck it up and buy the pass. Our work has a scheme you can get the pass for $1300 and it usually costs $1900. So while thats not ideal, if we dont get free lessons which you would with other volunteer positions, we dont really want to do the same sort of rubbishy job we're doing already. No free beer? Pffffft.

Robyn xxx

1 comment:

trishsquish said...

Suck it up. Clearing up crap is better than spending 1300 bucks and it's not like it's everyday innit. You only have to volunteer for so many days don't you? Or did I get that wrong. Anyway you'll get to meet more people and It's still something to put on your cv. Granny says Hi, she loves you and misses you. She can't leave messages at the mo cos her password isn't working and she doesn't know how to change it. She wants your address (so do I. I have asked for it once or twice y'know) so could you please e-mail it or send it to tonis facebook or summink.K! Had a bit of a scare with Gruff he had to go to Hospital but he's ok now. Had a bump on the head and a funny turn. He's running out of body parts to damage. LJ's was lush!!! We definately got our moneys worth. With Dad, Gareth, George, Kyle and Gareths dad, not to mention lauren eating all the duck,pretty much everything got eaten. The waitresses knew they were in for trouble when we asked for another plate of starters! We're going to try and clean out Tusk next for ours and jen and gruffs anniversaries. How was your Sushi?
Went to the club last night and everyone was asking after you and sends their love. Did you know Maria got a new bike? It's very nice. Hopefully if the weather stays nice (It's like summer at the mo!)we're going to organise a girlies ride out. Zoe's got a new bike too so should be fun.
Anyway think about the whole volunteering thing. I know that's what your credit card is for, it's just that it leaves you a bit stuck if there's an emergency. Any hoo love you every day, be good,
us xxx