Friday, 17 October 2008

Rain, rain, rain...


Well, we're both over our illnesses now and feeling okay again. Getting excited about the snow now.... although all the rain keeps melting away any snow that lands on the mountain which is bloody frustrating!

We've signed up to get our lift passes now- we're not going to bother with the volunteer thing. Because we wouldnt be able to do any work outside on the mountain and its not going to be a good experience, build our boarding skills or become something that we could put on our C.V., we're just going to buy the passes. It means we'll probably be poor - ok, we'll definitely be poor - until Christmas, but when it starts snowing we wont really be doing a lot else. But it works out about 600 quid for the whole season, and we'll probably do a hundred days of boarding. It sounds better when you say six pounds a day than twelve hundred dollars! We're doing some overtime at the diner at the moment though so hopefully it'll all be good!

At least with the rain and no money, its hockey season so there's good stuff to watch on t.v (and hockey season is a LOT of hockey!)We both like the Canucks, Vancouvers NHL team a lot and hopefully we'll get the chance to see them at some point.

Unless you want to see a whole bunch of rain in which case I can probably sort you out, we dont really have any pretty pictures for you. But here are some pics of some lovely Canadian candy, because as all we know the confectionary abroad is very, very crucial. Unfortunatley there are no pictures of Clodhoppers, which are yummy fudge-coated cracler clusters... Mmmm. Lots of Wonka, Hersheys (looooove Reeses Pieces!) and different Cadburys bars here too. FYI, those slushies are not the biggest, and they cost about a pound. They're like frozen coke, not slush puppies, so we've probably been drinking too many.


Robyn xxx

P.S.... Will somebody please give my love to Gruff?