Sunday, 22 March 2009

Still snowing!

Yes, it's still snowing here... quite a lot actually. Quite a lot more than it has been all winter really. The Whistler Blackcomb website says we've had 122cm in the last 7 days. Thats 48 inches, or 4 feet. Unfortunately it was quite warm and very wet snow, so a lot of it has already washed away (that number was also measured on the hill, not in the village where we had more rain). It's been a good week though, and it's pushed the snowbase up to 250cms, which means that hopefully the spring season will last longer.

We've also finally got around to putting up the pictures from when we went snowmobiliing to here, they've been on facebook for a little while already. Anyway, the new pics are here - we had a great day and got some nice postcard-esque pictures. I also got my sled stuck, and I maintain that somebody had to for it to be really snowmobiling. Yes.

Hopefully we'll get more action footage of us in the next few weeks when we get nice days to take the camera up now that we've both got good enough that it's worth taking pictures (and can carry the camera).

Love
Jon (and Robyn)

Wednesday, 4 March 2009

6 months!

Yesterday was the 6 month mark in our trip - we've been here for half a year!

Some things haven't gone as planned - breaking my arm set me very far behind both fiscally and in terms of snowboarding - but in general, its been good!

So far we have:

-Stayed in Vancouver
-Moved to Whistler
-Found two jobs and a place to live within a week!
-Waited for the snow
-Met lots of lovely Aussies (they do exist!) and Europeans
-Waited more for the snow!
-Nearly got eaten by bears
-I learnt to snowboard and Jon got better and better
-Drank some beer
-Got visited by Tom
-Learnt to ski (a bit!)

So while nothing overly exciting has happened, its just been general goodness! We're still enjoying snowboarding, and luckily we have lots of it left. Looking forward to the next five and a bit months - lots of hiking, biking and BBQs, we hope, plus Vegas, time in Vancouver and hopefully some more visitors!

Hopefully we will blog more once winter goes, we don't want to bore people with 1,000 snowboarding blogs!

Love Robyn (and Jon)

P.S My camera is broken so less pictures for the near future :(

Tuesday, 27 January 2009

Yay, snowboarding again!





So last week I got my cast off! Hurrah! The doctor was an idiot and was pointing to something on my x-rays that was not my fracture, which was worrying... oh well. It was pretty gross, some of my skin was black and it was all scaly and peely. But I've got most of my movement back in it and I'm wearing my wristguards now!

So Jonjon has been teaching me how to board now I'm all better. Because I'd only really done a couple of days before I broke my wrist and also because I hadn't really been on the mountain bar a couple days on skis I was a bit nervous going up again. But he took me on the learner slopes and we've spent a couple days up there now. That and me being back at work again means I'm very sore, so we didn't go up today. I'm coming on pretty good though, I think.

We've got our friend Tom coming out on Friday, which we're really looking forward to. I think Jon is looking forward to doing some hard runs! Other than that, there's not much news. Jonjon had his stitches out (he cut himself on a wine glass - ouchy) and thats pretty much it!


Love Robyn xx

P.S. Oh! Here are some more pics, including one of me snowboarding and one where I have failed at snowboarding and gone through a caution sign! The big mountain I am pointing to in one is Blackcomb mountain and the pastries are Beaver Tails and they are awesome.

Wednesday, 14 January 2009

Skiing

Been a while since we posted anything, mostly because I've been working a lot and Robyn can barely type... or do anything else... until her cast comes off in 6 days time.

We've been skiing the last two days, since it's a bit more suitable than snowboarding with a broken wrist. Ali has been teaching us, since he's a super qualified ski instructor, he was very good and we were on the full beginner slope quite quickly, not least because the long magic carpet was broken.

We took a few pictures today when we up just on our own - they're here, it was a really nice day too.

We've not done a lot else since Christmas, we tried ice skating which I hadn't done before, but was starting to get the hang of by the end of the session - hopefully we'll be going again quite soon.

We've gotta go to work now, and hopefully we'll be updating this a lot more once Robyn's cast is off.

Love
Jon and Robyn

NAP NAP

Friday, 26 December 2008

White Christmas

So, we've finally had a white Christmas, and I only had to wait 22 years! We had a really great day with everyone playing monopoly, and a great dinner - which Robyn mostly cooked on her own, with an awesome Mars bar cheesecake made by Renee. Me, Robyn and Garry went for a little bit of a snowboard on Christmas Day too, which is something we might never get to do again. Robz wasn't up there too long, but she still did it.

We've been on the phone a lot the last couple of days, so we won't write too much here, but we really had a great Christmas, the first set of photos have just gone up, but both of our cameras died at around lunchtime, so we'll have to get more of the evening off the other guys in the house. Some are a little older pictures, but they're all Christmas-y.

Lots of Love
Jon and Robyn

Saturday, 20 December 2008

Brrrrr!

Cold, cold, cold!

In bed with long socks, jeans, fleece and beanie on! We're both well, more to follow when Jon is in because I cant type very well!

Love Robyn x

Monday, 8 December 2008

Uh-Oh


Hi everyone, this is Jon typing because Robyn can't... she broke her wrist yesterday :( Sucks quite a lot really, could take up to 6 weeks to heal fully, but hopefully it'll be faster than that. It's quite a small hairline fracture of the left radius at the wrist, but apparently it's very painful.

Most annoyingly, it happened on a pretty flat part of a run, just after she'd made it down a very long steep pitch, she caught an edge (when the board digs under the snow a little) and fell over backwards onto her arm. Ski Patrol were very good, and she got to ride the toboggan down to the gondola and on to the clinic. They were also very nice, but now we have the fun of getting our money back through the insurance company, which is not going to be fun, and I get to do a lot of work in the meantime.

The day got a little bit worse when our boss/landlord came over to take away our massive TV and replace it with another massive TV, only this isn't widescreen and is a bit broken - the tube is on the way out and it flickers a lot unless you use picture in picture and don't use the full screen. Still, it's not so bad really and we just watched Wall-E, which was good.

Jonjon and brokeded Robrob
Posted by Picasa